Breaking News

Kano Assembly disqualifies LG mgt nominees

By AbdulSalam Muhammad

KANO—Former National President, Association of Local Government of Nigeria, Alhaji Ibrahim Karaye, and his local chapter chairman, Mukhtar Yakasai, were among several other nominees that failed Assembly screening for appointment as Interim Management Officers, yesterday.

House of Representatives

The two politicians were employed as contract staff by Kano State government shortly after serving out their three years tenure as Chairman of Karaye and Kano municipal councils, respectively.

Others, who failed the Assembly screening, include Architect Binta Yahaya, Rabiu Hassan, Haladu Ishak, Jaminu Soba, and Ali Bebeji.

The 40-man Assembly disqualified the nomination of Sani Iliyasu (Garko), Auwalu Ahmad (Fagge), and Shehu Haza (Gwale).

A report by the Chairman, House Committee on Local Government, Alhaji Abba Garko, revealed that the nomination proposed by Garko contradicts Section 14 Sub-Section 4 of the constitution.

The report, obtained by Vanguard, also revealed that the nominees for Fagge and Gwale were not career civil servants.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.