Breaking News

Amosun pays N4.5bn deductions to Ogun workers

Kindly Share This Story:

By Daud Olatunji

Abeokuta—Ogun State Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, has approved the total sum of N4.5 billion for the payment of cooperative deductions arrears to all categories of workers in the state.

This was disclosed on Tuesday in Abeokuta by the Commissioner for Finance, Mr. Wale Oshinowo.

Giving a breakdown of the payments, Oshinowo said N3.4 billion has been disbursed for the payment of six months arrears of outstanding cooperative deductions to all categories of the workforce at the state level.

•Amosun: Ogun governor

Another N1.1 billion was disbursed for the payment of three months of outstanding cooperative deductions to workers at the Local Government level.

He said another sum of N1.2 billion would be expended on state expenditure.

Explaining the source of the fund, the Finance Commissioner said, it came from the N5.7 billion Ogun State government received from the Paris Club refund, which the Federal Government recently shared to different states of the Federation.

He explained that whereas the Federal Government advised state governments to use only 50 per cent of the fund for payment of workers’ emolument, Governor Amosun has decided to apportion 79 percent on the workforce because of the love he has for the workers.

He said government would continue to do all within its power to cater for the civil and public servants in Ogun State.

Assembly approves new commissioners

Meantime, the Ogun State house of Assembly has confirmed the appointment of Governor Ibikunle Amosun’s nominees for the post of Commissioners II &IV in the State Civil Service Commission, Mr. Mojeed- Ekelojumati and Adeleke Micheal Adebayo following their screening earlier in the day.

The Assembly had earlier screened the nominees during a meeting of the Committee of the Whole House Chaired by the Speaker of the assembly, Suraju Adekunbi, who also charged them to put their experience to bear on the commission to further reposition it for effective service delivery when confirmed by the Assembly

The confirmation of the nominees was thereafter done through a motion moved by the Majority Leader, Adeyinka Mafe, seconded by the Minority Leader, Olawale Alausa and supported by the Whole House through a voice vote.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!