Breaking News

6 PDP lawmakers defect to APC in Kogi

By Boluwaji Obahopo

LOKOJA—SIX members of Kogi State House of Assembly, elected on the platform of People Democratic Party, PDP, in 2015, announced their defection to All Progressives Congress, APC, yesterday.

The defecting lawmakers hinged their action on the squabbles at the national leadership of the party.

The Speaker, Ahmed Umar, said the members who joined the ruling party in the state were John Abba (Ibaji), Adoke Bello (Adavi) Majority Leader of the House, Matthew Kolawole (Kabba Bunu), Ahmed Mohammed (Ankpa 1), Victor Omofaye (Ijumu) and Kekere Abdulkareem (Okehi).

However, Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in a statement by the State PDP Publicity Secretary, Bode Ogunmola, in Lokoja, said: “We have put in place all constitutional machinery to reclaim the mandate for PDP.

“They must vacate their seats immediately.”



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.