By Yinka Owolewa

Abubakar Bukola Saraki (ABS) Ilorin FC have announced that they would be competing for honours in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) with 15 new players that were unveiled at a ceremony on Tuesday.

Speaking at the unveiling ceremony held in Ilorin, the Kwara State capital, the club’s director of football, Alloy Chuwkuemeka said the players were carefully recruited with the target of winning a continental ticket this season.

He promised that the club would focus on the Federation Cup as a platform to reach the continent. The football director also declared that the club would do all they can to sustain their presence in the NPFL.

Chukwuemeka assured fans of the club, especially the people of Kwara State of the commitment of the players and technical crew to do the state proud in the professional league.

In his remarks, the Kwara State Commissioner for Sports and Youth Development, Alhaji Bolakale Ayo commended ABS Ilorin FC for their doggedness in returning to the NPFL.

The Sports commissioner who promised continuous support to the club charged Kwara United to work hard in getting promotion to the elite league at the end of the forthcoming Nigeria National League (NNL).

Also speaking at the event, the ABS coach, Henry Makinwa described the new players “as a bunch of talent with capacity and ability to stand the pressure of the football.”

Makinwa solicited the support and prayers of all stakeholders to make the club excel in the new league session.

In his comments, the captain of the club, Abdullahi Boje expressed confidence in the ability of the new players, having played together during the pre-season matches in Lokoja and assured that the players would work hard as a team for the success of the club.

Some of the new players are Adewale Adeyinka from the Kwara Football Academy (KFA), Ferinyaro Abdullahi from Niger Tornadoes, Wasiu Alalade from First Bank and Metu Chigozirim from Gateway United.

Also unveiled were Kehinde Idowu (Kwara United), Anthony Ebuka (Cofine FC), Bassey Effiong (Niger Tornadoes) and Stone Evbuomwan (COD United).

Others are Chindo Abubakar (Kogi United), Ernest Governor (Kogi United), Ikpi Austine (MFM FC) and Adeshina Gata (Kwara United).

The newly-promoted side also acquired the services of Eugene Ossy Martins from FC Ifeanyiubah and Omolayo Ibrahim from Niger Tornadoes.

ABS will begin their campaign in the NPFL on Sunday in Ilorin with the first match against Akwa United.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.