April 28, 2016

Bayelsa Speaker swears in three lawmakers

By Samuel Oyadongha

Yenagoa—ThREe  elected members of Bayelsa State House of Assembly were, today, sworn in by the Speaker of the Assembly, Mr  Kombowei Benson.

The members are Alfred Belemote (APGA, Brass II),  Gabriel Ogbara (ADC, Ogbia III) and Gibson Munalayefa (Labour Party, (Ogbia II).

They were declared winners of the 2015 state House of Assembly election by the ruling of the  Court of Appeal sitting in Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

Speaker of the House of Assembly,  Mr Benson, while swearing in the lawmakers, blamed the delay on the failure of the trio to follow due process in the submission of their documents.

He said though the House leadership knew about the court rullng declaring them  as elected members, the processes of admission of new members needed to be followed in accordance with rules and procedures of the House.