April 28, 2016

Bayelsa Assembly to swear in three opposition members today

Bayelsa Assembly to swear in three opposition members today

(Photo left)-Bayelsa State Governor Henry Seriake Dickson (left) receives former President Goodluck Jonathan (right) in the latter’s hometown of Otuoke as he returned home on Democracy Day. Picture by Lindsay Barrett.

By Samuel Oyadongha

Yenagoa—The leadership of Bayelsa State House of Assembly, yesterday, succumbed to pressure with resolution to swear in three elected members of the opposition parties.

The members-elect are Alfred Belemote (APGA, Brass II),  Gabriel Ogbara (ADC, Ogbia III) and Gibson Munalayefa (Labour Party, Ogbia II).

The leadership of the House had come under criticisms over its refusal to administer oath of office on the three members-elect.

But the  Speaker, Mr. Kombowei Benson, yesterday, on the floor of the House announced that the decision to delay the administration of oath of office on the elected opposition legislators was caused by faulty processes.

He said that though the opposition legislators would be sworn-in today,  “the delay in administering oath was caused by lack of due process.”