The candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, Senator Mao Ohuabunwa, won four out of the five local government areas of the re-run election in the Abia North Senatorial election. He recorded over 26, 000 votes and was cruising to victory until the result of Bende local government, won by former governor of the state and candidate of the Progressives Peoples Alliance, PPA, Orji Uzor Kalu significantly reduced his lead.

Orji Kalu is from Bende LGA and came second with over 25, 000 votes.
Dr. David Onuoha-Bourdex of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, came third with a total votes of over 13, 000.

Nnenna Nma Lancaster-Okoro of the All Progressives Congress, APC, scored a total of 916 votes, coming a distant fourth.
The cancelled votes which is over 26, 000 is far higher than the margin of 195 votes between the Senator Mao and Chief Kalu, indicating that the election might be declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.
The election took place in 808 polling units of 57 wards in five LGs.

Final result as collated
PDP 26009
PPA 25814
APGA 13633
APC 916

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.