Breaking News

APC wins Adamawa Rep rerun poll

The Independent National electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Mrs Talatu Yohan of All Progressives Congress (APC) as winner of the Saturday’s Numan, Demsa and Lamurde Federal Constituency rerun election.

Dr Pascal Timtere, the INEC returning officer, made the announcement in Numan.

“Talatu Yohana of APC wins the election with a total of 24,126 votes,” Timtere said.

He said Michael Zidon of PDP polled 11,513 votes and Dr P.P. Power of PDM got 6,320 votes.

Others are – CPP, 222 votes; KOWA, 400 votes; and Labour Party, 154 votes.

He said the total number of registered voters was 178,471 while 44,577 voters were accredited.
“The total valid votes were 42,735 and total rejected votes were 1,293 while the total number of votes cast was 44,028,’’ Timtere said.

It would be recalled that in Nov. 2015 the Court of Appeal sitting in Abuja nullified the election of Mr Kwamoti Laori of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and ordered a rerun election.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.