December 30, 2015

Ogun Assembly passes N200.2bn 2016 appropriation bill

Ogun Assembly passes N200.2bn 2016 appropriation bill

Gov Ibikunle Amosun

By Daud Olatunji

ABEOKUTA—Ogun State House of Assembly , yesterday, passed the 2016 Appropriation bill of N200,200, 453, 352.00 reflecting a marginal reduction of about N74 million from the total of N200,274,453,352 presented to the lawmakers by  Governor Ibikunle Amosun a month ago.

The passage of the Bill was sequel to the presentation of the report of the House Committee on Finance and Appropriation chaired by Akanbi Bankole, who later moved the motion for the adoption, seconded by Hon. Rasaq Oduntan and supported by the whole House, while the bill was thereafter read clause by clause before the members by the Speaker, Suraju Ishola Adekunbi.

The Bill was passed with an amendment in recurrent expenditure of the estimates of the State Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Bureau of Tertiary Education as well as Signage and Advertising Agency.

Also, the revenue targets of the State Ministry of Information and Strategy, State Environmental Protection Agency, Judicial Service Commission, Housing Corporation, Hospital Management Board, Bureau of Information Technology and the State Hospital, Ota were slightly adjusted.

The appropriation Bill allocated N89.908 billion for recurrent, N11 billion for consolidated revenue fund charges including pensions and gratuities, while N99.291billion was earmarked for capital expenditure.

While passing the bill at the plenary, through a motion for the third reading moved by the Majority Leader, Adeyinka Mafe, seconded by Victor Fasanya and supported by the Whole House, the Speaker, ordered that the clean copy of the Bill be sent to the Governor for his assent.

Meanwhile, the Speaker also constituted the Tenders’ Board Assembly with the Deputy Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo, as the Chairman while the Majority Leader, Adeyinka Mafe would serve as the Deputy Chairman.

Other members of the Board included the Minority Leader, Wale Alausa, Honourables Akanbi Bankole, Olayiwola Ojodu, Adebowale Ojuri, the Clerk of the House, Deputy Clerk and the Director of Finance and Accounts as well as his Planning Research and Statistics counterpart to serve as the Secretary.

The Speaker also inaugurated an ad-hoc committee on Inter-Parliamentary Affairs with the Majority Leader, Adeyinka Mafe as the Chairman, while Bowale Solaja, Aina Akinpelu, Rasaq Oduntan and Yetunde Adekanbi Sogbein as members.