Breaking News

Buhari to inaugurate FEC, Wednesday

By Levinus Nwabughiogu

ABUJA— The nation’s 36 ministers-designate, who were recently confirmed by the Senate, will take their oaths of office in the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa on Wednesday after which President Muhammadu Buhari will preside over the first Federal Executive Council.

Nigeria President Muhammadu Buhari arrives at Indira Gandhi International Airport for the Third India-Africa Forum Summit in New Delhi on October 27, 2015. India is hosting an unprecedented gathering of Africa's leaders as it ramps up the race for resources on the continent, where its rival China already has a major head start. AFP PHOTO
President Muhammadu Buhari

A statement by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr. Femi Adesina, yesterday stated that “the swearing-in ceremony will begin promptly at 10:00 hours and the ministers-designate are expected to be seated in the Council Chambers by 09:30 hours at the latest.”

Meanwhile, each minister-designate is advised only be accompanied to the swearing-in ceremony by a maximum of two guests.

Similarly, new National Chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Professor Mahmood Yakubu, alongside the five national federal commissioners would be sworn in today.

The five commissioners included Mrs. Amina Zakari, Mr. Solomon Adedeji Soyebi, Prof. Antonia Taiye Okoosi-Simbine, Dr. Muhammed Mustafa Lecky and Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo.

The ceremony which will hold at the Council Chamber in the Presidential Villa is slated for 11 am.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.