Breaking News

Pillars, Heartland yet to record a draw

For keen followers of the  league, nothing goes without any notice. Just as it is clear that Sunshine Stars of Akure top with 26 points and Sharks of Port Harcourt are bottom with 10 miserly points from 13 games, those whose business is it to keep tabs on the goings-on in the top flight are curious that champions Kano Pillars and Heartland are the only two teams yet to draw any of their matches.

Pillars have won the league in the last three seasons and are the most decorated side in the last ten years, having won the league title four times as against Enyimba’s haul of three titles in 2005, 2007 and 2010. Pillars’ titles came in 2008, 2012, 2013 and 2014.

In between the last ten years, three other teams have won the top prize, with Ocean Boys of Brass landing the title in 2006, Bayelsa United of Yenagoa in 2009 and Dolphins of Port Harcourt in 2011.

So with such a rich history, it becomes puzzling to know that Pillars have yet to earn a draw so far,  contributing in some way to their seventh position on the table.

And rather tellingly, the points Pillars failed to pick through draws they have traded to their rivals why have defeated them 6 times, just like Heartland, who are also yet to earn any draw but have lost six of their 13 matches played.




Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.