Breaking News

Ohanaeze crisis: Parallel leadership inaugurates caretaker committee

By Francis Igata

A-23-member Care-taker Committee was Thursday,selected to run the affairs of the Ohanaeze Ndigbo,the apex Igbo socio-cultural group, until a substantive election will be conducted in Enugu.

The Caretaker Committee with Chief Ralph Obioha,Imo,as Chairman and Dr Zed Chukwujama as Secretary,Anambra, has three members from each of the five states of the South-East geopolitical zone and two members each from Rivers and Delta,Anioma.

They were mandated to conduct fresh elections into the leadership of the organization in the shortest possible time as well as look into the finances of the organization.

Chairman of Ohanaeze Council of Elders and first Republic Minister of Transport, Chief Mbazulike Amechi, while inaugurating the caretaker committee said it had become inevitable following the inability of the”immediate past executive led by Chief Enwo Igariwey to conduct fresh elections into Ohanaeze after the expiration of its two-year tenure on January 12, this year”, stressing that nature abhorred vacuum.

“Their term of office expired on the 12th of January 2015 and right now Ohanaeze has no elected team of leaders. Nature, they say, abhors vacuum and it is in order to make for continuity on the interim that your committee is constituted.

“Article 11 of Ohanaeze constitution clearly states “there shall be a President General of Ohanaeze elected by the General Assembly for a term of two years”. Chief Igariwey and Dr Joe Nwaorgu who are co-captains of the ship that wish to wreck the great Igbo nation have been spreading the blatant falsehood that the constitution was amended to be for four years. Nobody amended the constitution of Ohanaeze on tenure”, Amechi stated.




Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.