Breaking News

INEC announces new dates for Phase 2 of PVC distribution, CVR

By Levinus Nwabughiogu
THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) yesterday rescheduled the second phase of the distribution of Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs) and Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) involving 12 states.

The PVCs which will now be distributed at the polling unit level in the affected states will run from Friday, August 15, 2014 to Sunday, August 17, 2014.

A release by the chief press secretary to INEC chairman, Mr. Kayode Idowu stated that the new date replaces the previous one slated between July 18th to July 20th.

Similarly, the CVR in the affected states will be from Wednesday, August 20th, 2014, to Monday, August 25th, 2014 as against July 23rd to July 27th earlier scheduled.

The states involved in the second phase of the programme are Yobe, Bauchi (North East), Jigawa, Sokoto (North West), FCT, Kwara (North Central), Anambra, Ebonyi (South East), Ondo, Oyo (South West) and Delta, Cross River (South South).

The release added that at the end of the polling unit level distribution, uncollected PVCs would be taken to respective local government offices of the Commission for subsequent distribution.

With the rescheduling of Phase 2 of the programme, new dates would also be announced later for Phase 3 involving Adamawa, Borno, Kaduna, Katsina, Kano, Plateau, Nasarawa, Niger, Imo, Lagos, Ogun, Edo and Rivers states.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.