Breaking News

10 Ogun APC lawmakers defect to PDP


ABEOKUTA—INDICATIONS emerged at the weekend that10 members of Ogun State House of Assembly have defected to the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, from the ruling All Progressive Congress, APC.


This brings to 13 PDP members in the House as the party before now had three members elected under the party.

The defection was reportedly facilitated by a member of House of Representatives representing Yewa South/Ipokia Federal Constituency, Abiodun Akinlade, who dumped APC for the PDP.

A lawmaker representing Ijebu North-East , Samson Onademuren gave the hint last week during a PDP rally held in Abeokuta , claiming that, he was the secretary of a 3-member faction in the Assembly against the state governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun.

The Assembly which comprises 26 members now reportedly has 13 PDP members while Labour Party, LP, and APC reportedly shared the remaining 13 members.

Akinlade while receiving the PDP flag, said he decided to join the PDP because of its laudable programmes for the people in the country.

He promised the people of the state better lives under the PDP, claiming he had lined up some developmental programmes for the state.

In his remarks, Onademuren said “I can tell you authoritatively that members of G 13 where I am the Secretary are ready to join the PDP. I have come as the Secretary of the G 13 members of the state House of Assembly to take the flag of the PDP, I want to say that all of us have decided to join the PDP.”


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.