Breaking News

Governor Suswam swears in 12 new Commissioners

By PETER DURU, Makurdi

Two months after sacking his cabinet, Governor Gabriel Suswam of Benue State, yesterday, swore in 12 new commissioners with a charge on the appointees to shun corrupt practices and contribute meaningfully to the development of the state.

Addressing the new cabinet members after administering the oath of office on them, Governor Suswam urged the appointees to be guided by the principles of transparency, accountability and openness in the conduct of government business.

Suswam also urged them to  remain above board and to be catalysts for meaningful development in the state.

”Given the myriad of developmental challenges that beset our state, the need to fast-track and reinvigorate the public service delivery machinery has become imperative,”he said.

The governor expressed optimism that the calibre of appointees who were sworn in would provide the requisite leadership and direction for the achievement and

sustainability of his administration’s set objectives.

Suswam maintained that the appointment of some new and the reappointment of former Commissioners was to blend experience with new ideas which would give further impetus to service delivery.

Among those appointed into the new cabinet were Anthony Onu for Science and Technology, Comfort Ajene (Culture and Tourism), Donald Amokaha Ugboho (Agriculture and Natural Resources), John Tondo (Lands and Survey), Egbiri Idah (Youths and Sports) and Elizabeth Allagh (Women Affairs and Social Development).

Others are Alex Atime (Housing), Eugene Aliegba (Environment and Urban Development), Conrad Wergba (Water Resources), John Ngbede (Works and Transport), Elizabeth Ugo (Education), Alex Adum (Justice), Omadachi Oklobia (Finance), Justin Amase (Information) and Aondowase Chia (Rural Development).


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.