Breaking News

Ovia, Angaye, Juwah, others for ISPON 2013 dinner

By Emeka Aginam

The Institute of Software Practitioners of Nigeria (ISPON) has raised the bar for its signature annual event as the Chairman, Quantum Capital Group and the Jim Ovia foundation, Jim Ovia, will deliver the keynote at the 2013 President dinner slated for this month in Lagos.

Accordingly, the event is expected to be chaired by Prof. Charles Ayo, Vice Chancellor, Covenant University, Ota. Prof. Charles Ayo.

NCC boss, Juwah
NCC boss, Juwah

The event aims to host the best cream of the Nigeria ICT Industry, software in particular, to a night of relaxed conversation, networking and knowledge sharing on issues relevant to the advancement of the Nigerian IT domain.

The President of ISPON, Chris Uwaje who disclosed this at the weekend to Journalists said that the 2013 ISPON President Dinner would also serve as a platform for rewarding deserving Software Start Up companies for their exploits in the Nigerian software industry in the past year with the prize for software excellence for “Best Software Start Up of the Year”,

Th award instituted by the Jim Ovia Foundation and domiciled under ISPON, Uwaje said will be presented by Jim Ovia at the event.

The dinner, according to Uwaje is a prelude to ISPON’s big event which draws the best brains in the information society, the National Software Conference and Competition, Tinapa 2013 scheduled to hold in Tinapa, Calabar, Cross River State this October where Prof. Tapio Varis would deliver the Keynote on e-Learning Solutions.

Prof. Tapio Varis is the Chair of Professional Education, with an emphasis on global learning environments, at the Research Centre for Vocational Education, University of Tampere, Finland, and the UNESCO Chair in Global e-Learning.

Other notable dignitaries to grace the dinner include: Senior representative of the Ministry for Communication Technology, Prof. Cleopas Angaye, DG of the National Information Technology Development Authority, Mr. Odo Effiong, Special adviser to the Governor of Cross River State, Mr. Ibrahim Dasuki Nakande, Former Minister of State for Information and Communication, Dr. Ernest Ndukwe, former EVC – NCC, Chief Don Etiebet, former Minister for Petroleum, Sir Demola Aladekomo, President, NCS, Mr. Ibrahim Tizhe, President, CPN, Alhaji Ladi Ogunneye.

Others are Provost, NCS College of Fellows, Mrs. Florence Seriki, President ITAN, Engr. Titi Omo-Ettu, CEO Executive Cyberschuul, Prof. Pat Utomi of the Lagos Business School, Mr. Leo Stan Ekeh, Chairman Zinox Technologies Ltd, Mr. Anayo Agu, Senior Commercial Specialist, US Consulate, Nigeria, Mr. Yang Kunlin of Huawei Technologies Nigeria, Ms Funke Opeke, CEO MainOne Cable Company, Mr. Rajan Swaroop of Airtel Nigeria, Mr. Brett Goschen, CEO MTN Nigeria, Juliet Ehimuan, Country Manager, Google Nigeria, Mr. Ime Umo, MD, HP Nigeria, Mr. Emmanuel Onyeje, Country manager, Microsoft Nigeria amongst others.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.