Breaking News

Uduaghan inaugurates LG caretaker c’ttees

By Austin Ogwuda

Asaba—DELTA State governor, Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan, yesterday inaugurated caretaker committees to run the affairs of local government councils in the state.

But opposition Labour Party kicked against it, insisting on having elected councillors and chairmen in place instead.

The swearing in of the local government caretaker committees came barely four days after the governor forwarded a fresh list of nominees to the State House of Assembly for appointment into the State Independent Electoral Commission, DSIEC.

The new nominees to be headed by Mr. Moses Ogbe, were asked by the State Assembly to report for screening on Thursday this week.

Sworn in were Sunday Young Chukwuedo (Aniocha North); Romanus Mabuogwu (Aniocha South); Ijenwa Okunoke (Ika North East); Andre Obiazi (Ika South); Alex Aniche (Ndokwa East); Okwaji Emmanuel Egri (Ndokwa West); Chinwe Olarewaju (Oshimili South) and Ochor Ochor (Ukwuani). Others were Sunday Eromedoghene Onoriode (Ethiope East); Precious Ajebitsi Ajaino (Ethiope West); James Augoye (Okpe); Julius Egbedi (Sapele); Friday Akpoyibo (Ughelli North);

Raymond Edijala (Udu); Brigbht Edejehwro (Uvwie).

Also sworn in were Collins Olorogun (Bomadi); Buckman Deinne (Burutu); Samuel Iise (Isoko North); Goodluck Idele (Isoko South); Chris Ekiyor (Patani); David Edun (Warri North); Augustine Uroyi (Warri South) and Ken Kenenagha (Warri South West).

Before now, the local governments were being run by the Head of Personnel Management (HPMs).

During the swearing in yesterday, the governor directed the State Accountant General to release council funds to the new chairmen for smooth take off of activities at that level of governance, while charring the appointees to take their assignment seriously.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.