Breaking News

Police get new DIG, 8 AIGs

By Kingsley Omonobi

ABUJA – The Police Service Commission, yesterday, announced the appointment of a new Deputy Inspector-General of Police to fill the void created by the death of late DIG in charge of Operations, Haruna John, who died early this year in a helicopter crash in Jos, Plateau State.

The new DIG is Mr. Philemon Leha, former Assistant Inspector-General of Police in charge of Zone I, Kano.

Eight Commissioners of Police were also promoted to the rank of Assistant Inspectors-General of Police.

The new DIG had served as the Commissioner of Police in charge of MOPOL, and Commissioner of Police in charge of Anambra State Command.

The new Assistant Inspectors-General are: Mr. Christopher Dega, Mr. Aliyu Musa, Mr. Bala Hassan, Mr. Mohammed Abubakar, Mr. Tambari Mohammed, Mr. Ibrahim Abdu, Mr. Julius A. Ishola and Mr. Alex Okeke (AIG Medical Services).

According to a statement by Ferdinand Ekpe, Chief Information Officer of the Commission, the elevation of the senior officers, which is in furtherance of repositioning the Personnel Management Affairs of the Nigeria Police Force, is aimed at giving the nation the security organisation it truly deserved.

The Commission also approved the promotion of a Sergeant to Assistant Superintendent of Police II with effect from July 7, 2010.

A superintendent of Police was dismissed; a Chief Superintendent of Police was compulsorily retired, while a Superintendent was reduced in rank to Deputy Superintendent of Police.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.