Breaking News

12 tertiary institutions receive N24b from TEtFund

By Favour Nnabugwu

Determined to boost teaching, learning and research in the nation’s education sector, Tertiary Education Trust Fund, Tetfund, gave 12 tertiary institutions across the country N24 billion through its special intervention programme.

The Minister of Education, Prof Ruqayyatu Ahmed Rufa’i, disclosed this  at the 2012 Strategic Planning workshop organized by TEtFund for tertiary institutions.

The institutions which benefitted from the special intervention are: Moshood Abiola University, Lagos and The Polytechnic, Ibadan to represent the South West; Anambra State University, Uli and Alvan Ikoku College of Education, Owerri to represent the South East, Federal Polytechnic, Nassarawa and Benue State University to represent the North Central.

Others include, Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aleiro and Federal Polytechnic, Kaura Namoda to represent the North West, University of Calabar and Federal College of Education, Agbo to represent the South South while Bauchi State College of Education and Modibbo Adamawa University, Yola will represent the North East.

Each of the universities, according to the minister is to have N3billion while the polytechnics and colleges of education are expected to have N1billion  each.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.