Breaking News

Bayelsa 2011: PDP at crossroads over Sylva

SEVEN days to the Bayelsa primaries of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, the leadership of the National Working Committee of the party is at crossroads on whether to come up with a statement on the final disqualification of Sylva or his clearance to contest following the silence on the part of the leader of the party, President Goodluck Jonathan.

It was also gathered that the fate of former Nigerian Ambassador to the Norwich region and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Water Resources, Godknows Igali, for the November 19 primaries was still not clear against the backdrop that the party was yet to put in place a special Screening Committee for him. He missed the last screening which took place in Port Harcourt.

Meanwhile, all is set for the primaries despite the fact that Sylva is yet to be cleared. 350 Delegates are expected to determine the fate of those already cleared by the NWC as members of the party, aspirants wait for the next batch that may be released by the leadership of the party.

Meanwhile, Chairman of the Bayelsa State Chapter of PDP, James Dugo, said there will be no problems in the State before and during the elections if the leadership of the party fails to clear Sylva.

Dugo who disclosed that the State PDP was prepared for the Monday Ward Congresses where Ad-Hoc Delegates will emerge, said that the sale of forms which is pegged at N200 will take place today, Saturday, adding that there will be a level playing ground for all, just as he stressed that it is a family matter.

It would be recalled that last week Tuesday, the national leadership of the Party through Alkali cleared  Oruta Justine Boloubo; Henry Seriake Dickson; Enai Christopher Fullpower; and Kalango Michael Youppele.

Also on Wednesday this week, the party gave a clean breath to Doukpala Francis Amaebi, Ekiyegha Fred Korobido and Austin Febo. This brings to seven the total number of those the party has now given the authority to come out November 19 to fight for the ticket of the PDP.

The National Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Professor Rufai Ahmed Alkali had said that the exercise was yet to be concluded, adding ‘’the review exercise continues until all issues concerning all aspirants are successfully dealt with and disposed off.”

Besides Governor Sylva who is still in the waiting list, former Managing Director of the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC, Chief Timi Alaibe, ex-Director-General, Nigeria Television Authority, NTA and Chief Executive Officer of Silver Bird Communications, Mr. Ben Murray-Bruce have also not be cleared by the party.

Sylva’s problem will be recalled started when the Appeal Panel headed by former  Deputy Governor of Ekiti State, Mrs Abiodun Olujimi disqualified him following heavy dose of complaints raised against him as the panel shifted the problems to the National Working Committee, NWC of the party to do the final work.

Other members of the Olujimi panel are Solomon Edojah; John Idoko; Moshood Salvador; Bello Wurno; the four Zonal National Chairmen,  Chief Okon Nkprubre, South South; Olisah Metuh, South East; Paul Wampana, North East; Alhaji Yusuf Ayitogo, North Central; Tajudeen Oladipo, South West and Senator Ibrahim Kazuare, North West.

Also as members are Professor Israel Owate and Abba Anas Adamu as Secretary.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.