Breaking News

AU accepts South Sudan as 54th member

Addis Ababa: The AU Commission on Thursday said it has formally admitted the Republic of South Sudan as the 54th member of the Union.

A statement issued in Addis Ababa by the Commission’s Information and Communications department said South Sudan was admitted into the AU on Wednesday in accordance with the provisions of Article 29 (1) and (2) of the Constitutive Act of the Union.

“The Republic of South Sudan was admitted as Member State of the AU with respect to the process of accession to the Constitutive Act following a request by the country to become part of the AU family.

“The Commission has received the requisite number of written communications supporting the admission of South Sudan to the AU as the 54th AU Member State,’’ it stated.

The statement said a ceremony would be organised by the Commission to enable the Government of South Sudan deposit the instrument of accession of the Constitutive Act of the AU.

An acceptance letter had already been sent to South Sudan, all Member States, Permanent Observers and International Organisations informing them of the membership of South Sudan in the AU.

According to the statement, Dr Jean Ping, the AU Commission Chairperson received the requisite number of endorsements from 33 Member States including the government of Sudan, which was more than the required simple majority for South Sudan’s admittance into the AU.

It stated that with the approval from the Member States, the Commission had formally informed Foreign Ministry of the Republic of South Sudan of its admission as the 54th Member country of the union.

South Sudan was declared a republic following its secession from Sudan on July 9. (NAN)


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.