Breaking News

Soyinka, Tinubu, Osoba, others for June 12 anniversary in Ogun

Abeokuta – Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka and former Gov. Bola  Tinubu of Lagos are among  dignitaries expected in Abeokuta for the 18th anniversary of the June 12, 1993 presidential election.

Others include former Govs. Olusegun Osoba and Alhaji. Balarabe Musa of Ogun and Kaduna states respectively.

Chief Frank Kokori, Prof. Pat Utomi, Mr Olisa Agbakoba, Dr Dipo Fasina and Mrs Hafsat Abiola-Constello are also to attend the ceremony.

The Ogun government has also declared June 13 as public holiday to mark the day, mas June 12 fell on a Sunday.

This s contained in a statement issued on Friday in Abeokuta by Mrs Funmi Wakama, the Senior Special Assistant (Media and Communication} to Gov. Ibikunle Amosun.

The June 12 presidential election, presumably won by the late business mogul, Chief M.K.O. Abiola, was annulled by the Gen. Ibrahim Babangida regime.

According to Wakama, the ceremony will also feature Democracy Walk, which will commence from the Ake Palace Ground and terminate at the M.K.O. Abiola Stadium, Abeokuta.

She gave other highlights of the event as public lecture and a stage play. (NAN)

All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.