Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in Cross River State, Ntufam. Ekpo Okon has attributed the overwhelming success the party had in the state at the National Assembly elections to the door-to-door campaign it embarked upon three weeks before the polls.

The PDP won all the seven House of Representatives seats in the state and Cross River North senate seat which was the only senate election conducted in the state in the April 9 re-scheduled polls.

Speaking in Calabar Tuesday, Ntufam Okon said immediately the campaign committee of his party was inaugurated, it went to all nook and crannies of the state to canvass for votes, adding that all the Local Councils were visited.

He said: “The party has been campaigning door to door using the local government structure to reach out to the electorate and spreading the message of hope and why the party is in a better position to serve them better.”
Ntufam Okon said candidates of his party were cleared by a Federal High Court in Calabar on the March 24, 2011, and that the PDP believed in the doctrine of one man one vote, adding that there was no incident of violence during the National Assembly polls, a development he attributed to the peaceful nature of the state.

He said that the opposition lost woefully in the elections without clinching any seat because of their failure to embark on political engineering, stressing that the opposition parties did not work hard enough  to merit wining any election and challenged them to show evidence of their campaigns.

Those elected on the platform of the party include Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Hon. Francis Adah who won the Obudu/Bekwara/ Obanliku Federal Constituency; Dr Rose Oko – Ogoja /Yala Federal Constituency; and Prof. Ben Ayade won the Cross River North senatorial seat

In the Central senatorial District, there was no election for the senate, but Chairman House Committee on Finance Mr. John Owan Enoh emerged winner for the Etung/Obubura Federal Constituency, and Hon. Christopher Etta for Ikom/Boki.

According to the results released for Cross River South, Hon. Essien Ayi emerged winner for Calabar South/Akpabuyo/Bakassi Federal Constituency. For Calabar Municipality/Odukpani Federal Constituency, former Nigerian Ambassador to Ethiopia, Nkoyo Toyo clinched the seat while Daniel Asuquo won in Akamkpa/Biase Federal Constituency.

Apart from the two senatorial seats -Cross River Central and South where elections were postponed, there was no election for Abi/Yakurr Federal Constituency as the election was postponed to April 26.

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.