Breaking News

Tenure elongation: Court okays extension for 5 governors

In Abuja, the Court of Appeal  has administered judgment on the one-year tenure extension for the governors of Kogi, Cross River, Adamawa, Bayelsa, and Sokoto States.

The Governors are Timipre Sylva, Bayelsa; Ibrahim Idris,Kogi;  Muritala Nyako, Aliyu Wammakko and Liyel Imoke, Cross River

Justice Bello had affirmed that because the tenure of the affected governors had not yet expired, it would be illegal for INEC to conduct elections in the affected states.

Justice Bello said, the five governors tenure will end on the following dates:

Ibrahim Idris (Kogi) April 5, 2012;

Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto) May 28, 2012;

Murtala Nyako (Adamawa) April 30, 2012;

Liyel Imoke (Cross River) August 28, 2012;

and Timipre Sylva (Bayelsa) May 29, 2012.

Friday, Justice Mohammed Lawal Garba upheld the first judgement of a Federal High Court also in Abuja, which elongated the tenure of the five governors, and added that there will be no election in the five states so mentioned.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.