By Ola Ajayi
THE rising profile of the Action Congress of Nigeria in Oyo State appreciated Thursday as the governorship candidate of the Labour Party in the state, Mr. Samuel Adejumobi and other seven suspended lawmakers in the state House of Assembly defected to the party.

The broom party had, last Saturday, dominated the senatorial election in the state by winning two of the three seats leaving the remaining one to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party.

While addressing newsmen on the reason for their defection in Ibadan day, the spokesperson of the eight legislators, Adejumobi said they had seen from last Saturday’s election that ACN would clinch the governorship seat of the state.

They also explained that their defection was a huge sacrifice for the entrenchment of democracy in the state.

According to them, it was not easy for them to shelve their political ambition and parley with the party, adding that the love they had for the people of the state made them to align with the winning party.

The names of the lawmakers who defected are Kazeem Ayilara who, was until his suspension the Deputy Speaker of the legislative arm; Samuel Adejumobi was the Majority leader; Mr. Mohammed Inakoju who held the position of the Chairman, House Parliamentary Caucus. Others are Micheal Okunlade, Abiola Ayorinde, Tunji Ademola and Kayode Animashaun.

Only five of the lawmakers were present but the spokesperson said others who were unavoidably absent supported them.

Adejumobi withdrew from the deputy governorship race while Ayilara shelved his House of Representatives ambition even though he had lost the election.

Subscribe for latest Videos


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.