Breaking News

SAN: LPPC shortlists 62 lawyers for interview

ABUJA – The Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee, LPPC, yesterday, invited 62 legal practitioners to appear before it on March 30 and 31, with a view to ascertaining their suitability for the confirmation of Senior Advocates of Nigeria, SAN, on them.

A copy of the invitation letter made available to Vanguard yesterday, disclosed that 62 of them were shortlisted at the end of an intensive chambers’ inspection conducted by the legal body.

The LPPC has the statutory mandate to confer SAN on worthy legal practitioners in the country who satisfy all the requisite conditions for the title as well as discipline any of them found professionally wanting .

It would be recalled that the LPPC had on December 6, 2010, barred a former Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Chief Michael Kaase Aondoakaa, from appending the SAN title to his name for two years, after it found him guilty of judicial misconduct and gross abuse of public office.

According to the document issued yesterday by the Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Mr. Sunday Olorundahunsi, who doubles as the Secretary of the LPPC, “the general public is at liberty to comment on the integrity and competence of any of the candidates. Such comments, if any, shall reach the undersigned on or before the 30th day of March, 2011”.

Those short listed for the interview  are,  Umonena Blessing Ukiri Mrs. Agatha Mbamali, Mr. Rotimi Jacobs, Prince Orji Nwafor Orizu, Paul Chibuike Ananaba, Folarin Rotimi Abiola Williams, Fredson Okoli, Adesegun Ajibola, Sylvanus Ogwemoh, Francis Agbu, Oyesoji G. Oyeleke, Fred Oluwakokumo Agbaje, Owonikoko J. Abiodun, Ogunlesi Ayodele, Nnadi J. Ositadima, Ferdinand O. Orbih, Faye Dikio and Pat Onegbedan, amongst several others.

Others are Abibo Granville Isetime, David Ogbenevo Ezaga, Kenneth Ekena Mozia, Henry Oghogh Ogbodu, Adele Ebierechi, Dan Ose Okoh, Olawoye Adekola Adeyeye, Theophilus Kolawole Esan, Adeleke A. Lawal, Babatunde A. Aiku, Olayinka Adebola Abiose, Johnson Olalekan Ojo, Oyewole Gboyega Sanmi, Amechi Okechukwu, Isaac Nwazine Ijiomah, Olumide O. Sofowora, Chiesonu I. Okpoko, Olumide Adeyinka, Olayode O. Delano and Norrison I. Quakers.

As well as,  Mrs Anthonia T. Akinlawon, Oluwemimo Ogunde, Agatha Mbamali, Akinlolu Timothy Kehinde, Yakubu Chonoko Maikyau, Ikechukwu Ezechukwu, Prince Orji Nwafor-Orizu, Hassan M. Liman, Garba Usman Tetengi, Chukwuma Machukwu Ume, Samuel Ologunorisa, Ogwu J. Onoja, Timothy T. Abe, Obishai N. Charles, Garba S. Pwul, Solomon Eyibio Umoh, Abeni Obomeileh Mohammed, Akinlaja Dayo Moses, Ocha Peterson Ulegede, Jibrin Samuel Okutepa, Suraj Sneda, David Maiwada Mando, Abraham Adojo Joe, Nelson Ayuzie Uzuegbu, Yahaya Mahmood and Olusola Oladimeji Ojutalayo.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.