*Overwhelms Ogboru
*DPP flag bearer rejects result
*Police warn trouble makers

By Austin OGWUDA
Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan who was sacked from office as governor of Delta State last November by the Court of Appeal swept back to power, yesterday, after winning the majority of votes in Thursday’s governorship re-run.

Dr. Uduaghan who flew the flag of the PDP polled a total of 275,253 votes to beat Chief Great Ogboru of the DPP who came second with 138,244 votes and Chief Ovie Omo-Agege of RPN, third, with 7,481 votes.

The PDP candidate led in 14 of the 25 local government areas in the state and Ogboru in 11.

In declaring Uduaghan winner, the  State Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Dr. Gabriel Ada who was the Returning Officer said: “Dr. Emmanuel Uduaghan having satisfied the requirement of the Law and having scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and hereby returned”. Ogboru immediately rejected the results.

Ada gave the following breakdown : number of registered voters that participated in the re-run –  1,548,647; total number of valid votes cast 433,312;  total number of rejected votes  17,064 and total number of votes cast  – 450,376.

Agents of Ogboru of DPP and Ovie Omo Agege of RPN who had publicly complained about what they described as “outlandish results being rolled out” did not sign the result sheet. They disappeared before the final result was announced.

Ogboru storms INEC office to protest result

Chief Ogboru stormed INEC office in Asaba yesterday while the results were being collated and released in piecemeal to register his complaint about what he referred to as gross act of rigging.

His supporters who chanted solidarity songs had a running battle with security agents who prevented them from gaining access to the INEC building where the results were being collated.

INEC vowed to prosecute electoral offenders

The State Resident Commissioner, Dr. Ada said: “I would like to point out few things that happened in the course of our monitoring the rerun exercise. Politicians were hell bent on causing violence and if not for the strength of the security we had on ground, it could have been worse.  Another was the issue of fake voters cards. Some went ahead to produce fake voters cards but we beat them to the game”.

He said he had already told the Electoral Officers to file in their reports so that a proper investigation would be conducted to ensure that all the violators of the law were brought to face the law.

On the burning down of the INEC Ughelli office and manhandling of their staff, the INEC boss  lamented that “electoral officers went out there with sincere mind to conduct free and fair election but you politicians put obstacles on our part. However, you must know that whenever we have such disturbances we have no alternative than to cancel the election at the affected areas”.

Police raise alarm

Delta State Police Command in a statement by its spokesman, Mr. Charles Muka, last night said “the command is in possession of reliable security information to the effect that some persons or political parties and their followers have concluded plans to embark on violent demonstration if the outcome of the just concluded re-run election is not in favour of their candidates.

“Some of the politicians and contestants”, the statement went on “have been sighted moving round with supposed fake security agencies around collating centres and INEC offices which is in violation of Section  46 (1) of Electoral Act 2006 which only allows representation of such  centres through polling agents.

“The command therefore warned all persons, groups, political parties and their followers to desist from any act that will bring about breach of the peace and avoid use of violence or illegal means to resolve any form of disagreement as  violators no matter how highly placed will be visited sternly with the full wrath of the law”.

Reacting to his sacking last November, Dr. Uduaghan had said he was merely proceeding on leave and would return at the appropriate time.

Results Released By INEC :

Oshimili South- PDP (2,466), DPP(2,811)

Oshimili North- PDP (4,412), DPP- 1,310,

Ika South- PDP (5,476) and DPP (2,767),

Ukwani- DPP (7,168), PDP- (2,277),

Patani- PDP (7,583) PDP (1,975),

Aniocha North- PDP (4,809), DPP- (1,105),

Ika North East- DPP (2,830), PDP- (14,360),

Okpe- DPP (5,266), PDP (4,059).

Ndokwa East- DPP (1, 736), PDP- (6,856),

Uvwie- DPP (10,719), PDP- (2,402),

Ethiope East- DPP (18,916), PDP (1,282),

Ethiope West- DPP (2,879), PDP (17,335),

Aniocha South- DPP (1,312), PDP (5,692),

Sapele- DPP (4,657), PDP (4,360),

Ndokwa West- DPP (6112), PDP (3632),

Warri North- DPP (470), PDP(37,139) ,

Warri South- DPP (8195), PDP(48,659),

Bomadi – DPP (4,354), PDP(21,632),

Isoko South -DPP(5,523), PDP(9,567)

Isoko North-DPP(7,785), PDP(5,808).

Ughelli South- DPP(8,103) , PDP(2,961)

Udu- DPP(18,457), PDP(1364)

Warri South West – DPP(2,836), PDP(50,933)

Burutu-  DPP (5,369), PDP (10,782)

Ughelli North- DPP (5850), PDP (1,198)


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.