Breaking News

Ndanusa is new NOC President

• Vanguard Tony Ubani, PRO

By Jacob Ajom and John Egbokhan

From (L) Tunde Popoola, new Sec-Gen. NOC, Jonathan Nnaji First Vice President, Chief Jonathan Ogufere, election umpire, Tony Ubani, Solomon Ogba, Tijani Umar and Engr. Sani Ndanusa (standing behind Tony Ubani) who emerged as the new President of the NOC . Photo: Sylva Eleanya.

Immediate past minister of sports and chairman of the National Sports Commission, Engineer Sani Ndanusa yesterday emerged as the new President of the Nigeria Olympic Committee after recording a landslide victory at the NOC elections held yesterday in Lagos.

Ndanusa who received a total 23 votes (representing the number of delegates present) was elected alongside Jonathan Nnaji who retained his position as First Vice President and Solomon Ogba as second vice President.

Other elected officers of the new look NOC executive board include, Tunde Popoola who emerged as the new Secretary General, Bappa Aliu Musa was voted in as the treasurer while Vanguard Sports Editor, Tony Ubani got elected as the new Public Relations Officer of the NOC.

The elections which was conducted by veteran sports administrators, Jonathan Ogufere, Kofo Nwokedi and Fabio Olanipekun witnessed the absence of principal officers of the outgoing executive.

Former President,  Engineer Habu Gumel, his secretary general, Banji Oladapo, the treasurer, Yinka Bakare were conspicuously absent at the congress.

Before the elections, the director-general of the NSC, Patrick Ekeji who declared the congress open expressed delight at the large turnout of delegates saying, government was aware of the numerous postponements of the elections which was coming long after the expiration of the Gumel regime because of internal wrangles. He noted that service in international organisations was an honour and should not be taken as a special

privilege which must be protected from others.

The congress first passed a vote of no confidence in the ex-president, Habu Gumel and Banji Oladapo before the elections began. All 23 delegates voted in favour of the motion. After passing the motion, First Vice President, Jonathan Nnaji and the deputy Secretary- General, Bappa Aliu were endorsed to act as president and the secretary general respectively.

The tenure of Engineer Habu Gumel-led executive expired in December 2009. Due to inexplicable reasons, elections into the board could not hold. The exercise was postponed to March 2010 but had dragged on until yesterday.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.