Breaking News

INEC Commissioners get postings

*Mrs Adebayo moves from Ekiti to Ondo , *Kaduna and Enugu  slots  vacant
ABUJA— A DAY after they were sworn in by Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Professor Attahiru Jega, the Rresident Electoral Commissioners, RECs, were, yestrday, deployed to their respective states of assignment while some serving RECs were moved to new states.
In a posting announced by the Secretary to the commission, Abdullahi Kaugama; Kaduna and Enugu states’slots were yet to be filled following the withdrawal of their nominees from the list, following the petitions which trailed their appointments. Steven Manya Dogo, the immediate REC in FCT represented Kaduna State in the previous arrangement.

Under the new arrangement, Mrs. Ayoka Emmanuel Adebayo moves from Ekiti to Ondo State; while  Prof. C. E. Onukaogu  who hails from Abia State moved to Anambra State, to take over from Barrister Josiah Uwazuoronye as the Resident Electoral Commissioner. Prof. Tukur Sa’ad from Adamawa State moved to Borno as the new REC and Ahmed Makama  from Bauchi State was sent to Nasarawa.

Chief Mike Igini from Delta was posted to Cross River State as the REC; Prof. Selina Omagha Oko from Ebonyi State is to serve in  Imo State; while Alhaji Jibril Ibrahim Zarewa from Kano State was deployed in Zamafara;
Hussaini Ahamed Mahuta from Katsina State has been posted to Sokoto; Abubakar,Umar Garba  Wara from Kebbi State is the new REC for Katsina; Dr. Emmanuel Onucheyo from Kogi State was moved to Niger; Amb. Rufus  Akeju from Lagos is the new REC for Osun State while Alhaji Abdullahi Danyaya from Niger State was deployed in Kano as REC.

Dr. A. L. Ogunmola from Oyo is the new REC for Lagos; Haliru Tambawel from Sokoto State is the new REC for Kaduna; Kassim Gana Gaidam from Yobe State goes to Adamawa as REC and Ibrahim Bagobiri Marafa from Zamfara State became the new REC for Jigawa State.

Other postings include Dr. Rose Obuoforibo from Cross River State to Edo; Anie Ikoiwak moved from Kwara State to Rivers; Dr. Humphrey Nwangene moves from Enugu to Ebonyi State; Mrs. Maria Owi moved from Imo to Akwa Ibom State as REC; while Sir Eugene Amaju was moved from Plateau to the FCT. Abba Kyari Sadiq was moved from Bauchi to Taraba State; Dr. Gabriel Ada moves from Taraba to Bayelsa while Austine Okojie moves from Rivers to Abia State.

Mr. Ayo Adekeja moves from Kogi to Oyo State; Isiaku Maigoro goes to Kaduna from Ekiti State; Habu Zarma moves from Borno to Plateau; Josiah Uwazuoronye moves from Anambra to Enugu State; Kabiru Ahmed moves from Niger to Kebbi State and Nasir Ayilara moves from Ogun to Benue State.

The other movements were: Mohammed A. Ahmadu from Yobe to Kogi State; Godfrey Miri from Nasarawa to Gombe State; Elder Martins Okunfolami from Oyo to Osun and Senator Ilya Audu  from Benue to Bauchi State as REC.

The RECs were directed to ensure that comprehensive handing/taking over formalities were completed on or before next Monday.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.