The Africa U-19 Cricket World Cup Division 2 qualifying series begin today in Swaziland, with Nigeria taking on West Africa counterparts, Gambia in the opening group game. The tournament is scheduled   from 26th to 30th July, 2010

The Nigerian U19 Cricket team arrived South Africa last Wednesday to undergo a brief training camp ahead of the tournament.

Apart from, Nigeria other countries participating in the tournament include Gambia, Mozambique, Rwanda and host Swaziland.

Nigeria plays Rwanda on 27th in her second match and subsequently take onMozambique on 28th and host Swaziland on 29th.

The Nigerian delegation of 14 players and three officials is led by NCF Board member and Technical Director, Okon Ukpong.

The players include Abiodun Abioye(Captain), Chukwu James(Vice Captain), Olumide Adeniran,Varun Behani, Rotimi Adesanya, Tobi Majaro, Seun Adeboro, Sola Anyia, Benjamin Anyia, Dayo Ogunbayo, Joshua Ayannaike, Usman Adebiyi, Segun Ilori and Toyshik Shukla.

South African born Sean Phillips is the team coach.
In South Africa. The NCF Secretary, Patrick Okeke is also on the delegation which will travel to Swaziland by luxury Coach on Saturday 24th July, 2010.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.