By John Abayomi, Deputy Online Editor

Hosts of the 2010 World Cup, South Africa has today released the names of 23 players for the World Cup starting on June 11. Absent on the Bafana Bafana squad  is Premiership and national team star player,  Benni McCarthy.

Bafana Banfana, Brazilian  Coach Carlos Parreira  who announced the list at a press conference also dropped goalkeeper Rowan Fernandez, Franklin Cale, Bryce Moon and Innocent Mdledle. 

Find below is the 23-man  Bafana Bafana squad:

Goalkeepers ; Itumeleng Khune Kaizer Chiefs ,Moeneeb Josephs Orlando Pirates , Shu-Aib Walters Maritzburg United
Defenders; Matthew Booth, Mamelodi Sundowns; Siboniso Gaxa,Mamelodi Sundowns; Bongani Khumalo, SuperSport United ; Tshepo Masilela, Maccabi Haifa (ISR) ; Aaron Mokoena, Portsmouth (ENG) ;  Anele Ngcongca, Genk (BEL); Siyabonga Sangweni ,Golden Arrows;
Lucas Thwala, Orlando Pirates ;

Midfielders: Lance Davids,  Ajax Cape Town; Kagisho Dikgacoi,  Fulham (ENG);  Thanduyise Khuboni Golden Arrows, Reneilwe Letsholonyane Kaizer Chiefs , Teko Modise Orlando Pirates , Surprise Moriri Mamelodi Sundowns, Steven Pienaar Everton (ENG)
Macbeth Sibaya Rubin Kazan (RUS) , Simphiwe Tshabalala Kaizer Chiefs

Forwards; Katlego Mphela Mamelodi Sundowns, Siyabonga Nomvete Moroka Swallows , Bernard Parker FC Twente (NED)

 Will the absence of McCarthy affect Bafana Bafana’s performance at the World Cup?

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.