Breaking News

MTN World Cup promo produces 9 millionaires

By Laja Thomas
Nine millionaires have emerged in the ongoing MTN 2010 World Cup Naira Splash Competition. The winners were announced during the first prize presentation ceremony of the SMS-based interactive competition which was held on Friday May 7, 2010, at Sheraton Hotel, Lagos.

Among the lucky millionaires are Celestine Ogolo, Emmanuel Osuagwu, Ginika Vincent, Victor Onyeje, Abiodun Olumuyiwa and Samuel Ovie. Others include Onyi Vincent, Francis Omafu and Anukam Ephraim. A cheque of N2 million was presented to each of these winners, while 20 other MTN customers smiled home with N20, 000 each.

MTN’s General Manager, Consumer Marketing, Mr Kolawole Oyeyemi said:  “as we all know, the FIFA 2010 World Cup is coming to Africa for the first time, and MTN is not only the official telecommunications company, but also the global sponsor of the historic tournament.

Therefore, we are bringing the excitement of the World Cup to Nigerians and at the same time empowering them by adding value to their lives through the Naira Splash Competition.”

Full of appreciation to MTN Nigeria, Ogolo, one of the recipients of the N2 million cheques, expressed delight over the prize, saying that it was the beginning of greater things to come to him and his household.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.