Breaking News

Delta establishes four Polytechnics

ASABA—The Delta State Government has approved the establishment of four new Polytechnics in the state in line with its human capital development programme.

The Polytechnics which are expected to serve as centres of excellence are to be sited at Aboh in Ndokwa-East Local Government Area, Bomadi in Bomadi Local Government Area, Sapele, in Sapele Local Government Area, and Abigborodo, in Warri North Local Government Area.

The Commissioner for Information, Mr. Oma Djebah, announced this yesterday as part of the decisions taken at the meeting of the State Executive Council which took place at Government House, Asaba.

He explained that apart from the desire to enhance the human capital development programme of the State by equipping young Deltans with the requisite technical expertise for the development of the State, the institutions will also assist in absorbing the teaming population of qualified young Deltans unable to secure admissions to enhance their education in other tertiary institutions in the country.

The establishment of the four new Polytechnics brings to seven the number of Polytechnics owned by the Delta State Government. The previously established ones are Ogwashi-Uku Polytechnic, Ozoro Polytechnic and Otefe-Oghara Polytechnic. In addition, the State runs a College of Physical and Science Education at Mosogar in Ethiope West Local Government Area.

Mr Djebah said the State Government aims to reposition the State as the leading State in nurturing its human capital development


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.