Breaking News

Two ANPP Senators defect to PDP

By Emmanuel Aziken

Abuja — The over-whelming dominance of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP, over the Senate is set to increase tomorrow with the defection to the party of two of the three Senators of the All Nigeria People’s Party, ANPP, from Zamfara State.

The duo, Senators Sahabi Yau and Hassan Gasau, are scheduled to formally defect on the Senate floor tomorrow after formally decamping in Gusau yesterday. The defection of the duo would leave the minority benches with an estimated 19 Senators after the defection of four Senators from the ANPP and the Action Congress, AC, in the last one year.

PDP which started with 87 Senators at the inauguration of the present Senate in 2007, lost one seat to the AC last year when the party lost the Ekiti Central Senatorial constituency occupied by Femi Kila to the AC’s Senator Olabode Ola last year.

Subsequently, the party’s strength in the Senate increased with the decamping of Senators Sati Gogwin (Plateau Central) and Otaru Ohize (Kogi Central) from the AC, Patrick Osakwe (Delta North) from Accord Party and Patricia Akwashiki (Nasarawa North) from the ANPP to the PDP in the last one year.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.