Breaking News

Sheriff unfolds infrastructure devt plan

By Ndahi Marama

MAIDUGURI — The Borno State government has unfolded a two-year infrastructure development plan for six council areas.

The council areas bordering Niger, Chad and Cameroun in Borno State include Mobbar, Kala/Balge, Dikwa, Ngala, Abadam and Gwoza, 135 kilometres South of Maiduguri, the state capital.

Vanguard also learnt that with the exception of Gwoza, the remaining five border councils are either completely cut off from the outside world or lacked basic infrastructural facilities for roads, water, electricity and health care delivery services.

Unfolding the state’s border areas development plan yesterday in his address to the people at Rann and Ngala in continuation of his working visit to 27 council areas, Governor Ali Sheriff lamented that six of the councils had been deprived of the basic infrastructural facilities and health care delivery services, like hospitals and clinics.

He said Kala/Balge which is one of the largest council areas, had been declared a “disaster border area,” because once the rains set in, the entire border area was completely cut off from the outside world, as Rann, the council headquarters, continued to be inaccessible during the rainy season.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.