Breaking News

Shake-up in Police

Onovo appoints 15 new State Commissioners

By Kingsley OMONOBI, Abuja
The Nigerian Police force has effected a major shake up in its hierarchy with the appointment of 15 new Commissioners of Police for the states and redeployment of some others to NIPSS and the Force headquarters.

The new Commissioners of Police are Mr. Muktar Ibrahim, formerly CP Yobe, now Commissioner of Police, Kwara state, Mr. Umaru D. Saidu, formerly CP in charge Police College, Maiduguri now CP Kebbi state, Mr. Emmanuel Ayeni formerly of the Force Criminal Investigations Department, now CP Ebonyi state.

Others are Mr. Mohammed J. Abubakar, formerly CP Zamfara state, now CP Sokoto state, Mr. Abubakar Mohammed, CP Zamfara state, Mr. Mohammed Sambo, CP in charge federal Operations, force headquarters, Mr. Bala Magaji Nasarrawa is CP in charge Ondo state.

Also appointed is Mr. Peter Y. Gana, CP in charge Special Anti_Fraud department, force headquarters, Mr. K. C. Katso is the new Commissioner of Police in charge Ekiti. He takes over from Mr. Sabo Ringim who is redeployed to Bauchi state as the new CP in charge.

Mr. Emmanuel K. Udorji, formerly the CP Ebonyi is the new Commissioner of Police Edo state. He takes over from Mr. Danlami Yar’adua who moves to force headquarters as CP in charge General Investigations, Mr. Mamman Sule, formerly CP Kwara is now CP in charge Yobe state.

Mr. Atiku Yusufu Kafur, formerly the CP Bauchi state is moved to Maiduguri as the Commandant of Police College, Mr. Murtala Abass, formerly the CP Sokoto is now the Commissioner of Police in charge Provost at force headquarters while Deputy Commissioner of Police  Felix Onsite Uyana, formerly of Force Provost, is the new COMPOL MOPOL.

All the affected officers according to a signal issued from the office of the Inspector General of Police, Ogbonna Onovo, are to assume office on or before the 16th of this month.

The officers proceeding to the National Institute for Policy and Strategic Studies are CP Mark Idakwo Adamu, CP Mamman Ibrahin Chafe, CP Saliu Argungu Ashimu, CP Adeola Adeniji Adeleke and CP Ambrose Aisabor.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.