February 20, 2010

NNPC/Shell Cup: 10 teams zoom into q-finals

The zonal preliminaries of the 2009 All Nigeria Secondary Schools football competition ended on Thursday with 10 schools representing 10 states of the federation qualifying for the quarter finals holding on March 11 and 12, 2010..

National Co-ordinator of the competition tagged NNPC/Shell Cup and Managing Director of Worldwide Sports, Shola Akinwale told Sunday Vanguard sports that the qualifiers are champion schools from Delta, Ogun, Plateau, Ebonyi, Imo, Borno, Katsina, Bauchi, Adamawa and Benue states.

The 10 qualifiers have  been grouped into four centres namely Ilorin, Port Harcourt, Kano and Enugu, according to Akinwale.

At the Ilorin centre, Bauchi and Katsina states will battle each other and the winner will play Borno state champions who drew bye while the Port Harcourt centre will see a straight fight between Delta and Ogun states for the semi final ticket.

Like the Ilorin centre, Enugu is hosting three teams with Imo drawing bye to face the winner of the tie between Plateau and Ebonyi while at the  Kano centre, Benue will battle Adamawa for the semi final ticket.
The semi finals, third place and final matches will be played on dates yet to be decided in April