February 22, 2010

NBC sanctions 35 broadcast stations

By Liade Akinboade
ABUJA —National Broadcasting Commission, NBC, has sanctioned 35 broadcast stations across Nigeria in January 2010.

This was stated Monday by the NBC, Head, Public Affairs, Mr. Salihu Awwalu, each station was fined between N50, 000 to N500,000 for various offences.

The breach included ‘Not To Be Broadcast Before’ (NTBBs), adverts with spurious claims, advertising alcohol outside the stipulated time period and contravention of election regulation.

According to the statement, the stations that were affected include, Broadcasting Corporation of Oyo State, BCOS, Imo Broadcasting Corporation, IBC,FM Owerri,  Anambra Broadcasting Service, ABS, TV, Awka,  Silverbird Awka, NTA Awka, Raypower 100.6, Bond FM, Edo State Broadcasting Service, EBSTV, and Ondo State Radio Corporation, OSRC, FM.

Other stations were warned included Ondo State Radiovision Corporation,  OSRCTV, Ondo State Radiovision Corporation, OSRC, FM both in Akure, Ondo State, Jeremi FM, Warri and Independent Television, Benin.

Other stations that were warned were, Delta Radio Television Warri, Voice of Delta Asaba, Adaba FM, Akure, BCOS, Ibadan, Borno Radio Television and FM both in Maiduguri.

Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria, FRCN, Yola, Adamawa Broadcasting Corporation Yola, Yobe Broadcasting Corporation, YBC,  FM, NTA Maiduguri, Channels TV, WAZOBIA FM,  Rhythm FM, Abuja received warnings.

NBC also issued warning letters to Independent Television, ITV, Abuja, NTA Kaduna, ABG Communications, Desmins Television, DITV, Kaduna, Africa Independent Television, AIT,,  Kaduna, Rima Radio Sokoto, Plateau Radio Television Corporation ,TV,  Jos, AIT Jos,

They were issued warnings on breaches ranges from absence of aviation warning light, broadcast of NTBBs musicals, wrongful logo embossment and live relay of foreign news.