Breaking News

Community alleges marginalisation

By Chidi Nkwopara

OWERRI—The people of Owerri Municipality have expressed displeasure over what they called “the marginalisation of the area in the creation of local government development areas, since the inception of the current democratic dispensation.”

Disclosing the position of his people on the matter before the Imo State House of Assembly,  the member representing Owerri Municipal Council,  Mr. Clinton Amadi, described the non-creation of a new development area from his constituency as “most displeasing.”

“We are not happy that six new development areas have again been created and Owerri Municipal was not found fit to get a share of new development areas. This is not right at all,” Amadi said.

The new local government development areas are Agwa with its headquarters at Obudi, Egbema North with its headquarters at Mgbara, Osuama Anara with the headquarters at Anara and Onuimo South with Okwelle serving as its headquarters.

Others are Nkwerre North with its headquarters at Isi Owerre Nkworji, Ugiri South with Obollo as headquarters, Uboma East with its headquarters at Mbara and Owerri North East with its headquarters at Amakohia.

Vanguard recalls that with the creation of the six new local government development areas by the State House of Assembly, the number increased to 44, but none has so far been carved out of the present Owerri Municipality.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.