Breaking News

TFA Season 5 takes off with town meetings

By Lolade Sowoolu
FOR the fifth consecutive year, RedStrat, organisers of the annual ‘The Future Awards’ has announced the beginning of nominations for the 2010 awards.

Launched officially at the Terra Kulture, Lagos last Wednesday, September 30, this year’s event will begin with the traditional town hall meetings which will take place from this October through December, with stop overs in Abuja, Enugu, Calabar, Ife, Kaduna, Yola, Ogun, Enugu, Asaba, Benin, Accra, Johannesburg and the United Kingdom, as announced by Asim- Ita Emilia, PRO RedStrat.

•Comedian Omobaba and Funke Akindele, winners at TFA 2009
•Comedian Omobaba and Funke Akindele, winners at TFA 2009

The launch which officially ended Season 4, featured musical performances from Ibiyemi, Rooftop Mcs, Obiwon, Iyanya and Banky W. A quick recap of last year’s achievements and messages from some of the award recipients were shown while the theme of this season’s campaign was unveiled as ‘I represent Naija’.

Also, the calendar for Season 5 activities was made public while organisers called for participation from volunteers.

The nominees’ reception for charity is expected to take place on the 16th of December, while the pre-awards ‘Do Something’ conference will come up a day before the awards proper in February 2010 where the Minister for Information & Communications, Dora Akunyuli, is expected to give the keynote address.

This year’s edition is supported by the Federal Ministry of Youth Development and the Federal Ministry of Information & Communications.

The Future Awards is a sub-project of The Future Nigeria project organised and managed by a youth communications/youth resource agency called RedSTRAT run by three young Nigerians: Chude Jideonwo, Asim- Ita Emilia and Adebola Williams.

Nominees for the awards are strictly between the ages 18 and 31, spread across 20categories including ‘Best Use of  Science’, ‘Business-owner of the Year’, ‘Professional of the Year’ and ‘Young Person of the Year’.

Some of  last year winners are Cobhams Asuquo; Music Producer of the Year, Omobaba; ‘Comedian of the Year’ and Funke Akindele; Actor of the Year.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.