Breaking News

NMVA ‘09, its D-day

By Lolade Sowoolu
As the entire entertainment industry empties into Lagos this weekend for the third edition of Nigeria’s foremost and pioneer music video awards; the Nigerian Music Video Awards (NMVA), top entertainment mogul and Chairman Silverbird group, Ben Murray Bruce, has expressed his support for the NMVA cause during a courtesy call made to him at his Lagos office by NMVA delegates.

While expectations approach a crescendo over the ceremony heavily hyped to be one of the best in the 2009 music entertainment event calendar in Nigeria, organisers of the annual event; Callivision Network, have gone ahead to name respected broadcaster cum entrepreneur; Segun Aderibigbe aka Kwame, leading MC cum comedian; Bright Okpocha aka Basket Mouth and screen delight; Bayira El James, now to be called El, as anchors for this year’s episode.

Like a providential move, the World Music Awards (WMA) initially scheduled to hold in Monaco, Europe on the 2nd November is confirmed to have been suspended – a first time happening in the twenty years history of the global event. This rescheduling puts paid to the probability of heavy weight Nigerian music entertainers, who had given the WMA top priority, missing the national event.

Already, organisers have tipped Ghana’s Batman Samini, Bracket, Faze, Benita, Sammie Okposo, Djinee, Wande Coal, D’banj, Adewale Ayuba and the Mo Hits Crew as performers at the A-list event. Dance will be supplied while documentary on the legendary life of Michael Jackson and his contribution to the world music video revolution will be shown.

The traditional green carpet; a symbol of the NMVA being a national event, promises to be interesting and engaging with lots of camera men, photographers and red-carpet hosts all jostling for celebrities’ attention.

Among the special guests of honour expected at the event are the governor of Benue state; Barr. Gabriel Suswam, the host governor; Gov. Babatunde Fashola (SAN), sole inductee into the NMVA Hall of Fame this year; Chief Raymond Dokpesi, Ben Murray Bruce, footballer JayJay Okocha, actor Jim Iyke and broadcaster Femi Sowoolu.

Awards will be given out in twenty-two (22) categories including ‘Best Animated Video’, ‘Most Promising Video Director’, ‘Best Afrobeat video’ and ‘Video of the Year’. As at press time on Thursday, when the official website for the event-, was last visited, results showed serious activity on the website also giving an idea of likely winners at the tomorrow event.

The NMVA debuted Nov. 1st, 2007 at the Expo Hall, Lagos. Its trophy; Annabel, is named after the second daughter of the CEO of Callivision Network- Cally Ikpe. Its biggest winner at the debut edition was gospel group Infinity, carting six (6) annabels with their ‘Olori Oko’ video. Last year saw pop group, P-Square emerging tops.

They received four (4) annabels for their ‘Roll It’ video. This year, will R N B singer Darey come tops considering that he has the highest number of nominations (six)?

Tomorrow evening at the Expo Hall of Eko Hotel and Suite, Lagos, all will be made bare.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.