Breaking News

Delta 2020 council asks sub-c’ttees to produce reports

Delta State Vision 2020 Council has asked all sub-committees to produce revised reports of its meetings to enable it come up with working document.

Rising from a meting at Government House, Asaba, last weekend, the council, chaired by Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan, spoke about incorporating observations and inputs received from members before the revised report is consolidated into Delta State Vision 2020 plan.

A statement issued by the state’s Commissioner for Economic Plannuing, Mr. Bernard Okumagba, said the latest meeting, which is the third in the series, reviewed the draft reports from the 12 sub-committees/thematic work groups, including governance; strategic framework and economic direction; energy; physical infrastructure, including housing, and human infrastructure.

Others are agriculture and natural resources; industry, commerce, science and technology; finance and fiscal management; lands; urbanization & regional planning; environment and waste management; culture, tourism and entertainment and cross-cutting issues.

Governor Uduaghan used the opportunity of the meeting to brief Council members on current events in the state and took  members on a tour of government projects, which included the Asaba International Airport and the New Government House.

Present at the Meeting were Major General David Ejoor (Rtd), former Deputy Governor – Chief Benjamin Elue, Senator James Manager, Senator Patrick Osakwe, Hon. Nicholas Mutu of the National Assembly, Minister of State for Works and Housing – Chief (Mrs) Grace Ekpiwhre, Speaker, Delta State House of Assembly – Barr. Martins Okonta and other  principal officers of the House.  Others present included: Dr Gamaliel Onosode, Chief Philip Asiodu, Prof. John Pepper Clark, Gen. Dominick Oneya (Rtd), Gen. Paul Omu (Rtd.), Prof. Pat. Utomi, Prof. Sam. Oyovbaire, Prof. B.I C Ijomah, Prof. John Amoda, Prof. Victor Peretemode, Engr. Godwin Omene. Ms. Evelyn Oputu – M.D of the Bank of Industry, Dr. Bright Okogu – DG, Budget office of the Federation, Mr. Temi Omatseye – DG, NIMASA, Mr. Mofe Boyo – Deputy Managing Director of OANDO  Plc and Chief Wellington Okirika – Chairman, DESOPADEC. Traditional Rulers present included  HRM Asagba of Asaba  (Prof) Chike Edozien and  HRM Orhue I, Orodje of Okpe, Gen. Mujakpero (Rtd.) (CFR, MNI). Representatives of various organizations, Labour Unions, National Council of Women Society (NCWS) and Members of the Delta State Executive Council were also present.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.