Breaking News

140 Federal Directors to go

By our reporter
A TOTAL of 140 Directors, representing 28.8% of the present 486 in         the Federal Civil Service, are affected by the ongoing reforms in the service limiting the tenure of such cadre of officers and permanent secretaries  to eight years.

The new policy is  generating controversy across the country on the strength of  insinuations  that it is claiming more jobs from northerners than their southern counterparts.


Investigation by Sunday Vanguard showed that while Kano State with 33 directors will be losing 16 to retirement on account of the new policy, it still has 17 left which is about the total no of such officers left in the service  from Akwa Ibom (3); Bayelsa (1); Cross River (4); Ebonyi (3) and Ekiti (7); Ogun State has the largest no of 29 directors remaining  in the service followed by Anambra with 26 and Delta 20.

The FCT has no retired or serving director. Some of the retiring directors have served for 11-18 years.

Documents  obtained by Sunday Vanguard also showed that two of the directors have served for 19 years each; four for 18 years each; six for 17 years each; three for 16 years each, six for 15 years each and 9 for 14 years each.

Tremendous pressure is being piled on President Umaru Yar’Adua to back down on the reforms. He has, however, rebuffed such  pressure and directed that vacancies arising  from the retirement of permanent secretaries be filled immediately.

For instance, some influential permanent secretaries were said to have confronted the Head of service Mr Stephen Oronsaye for making the proposal to the president.

Oronsaye had in a July 27, 2009  circular to heads of government
agencies said: “For the avoidance of doubt and in order to maintain discipline and integrity of the public service, extant  Public Service Rules which prescribe 60 years of age or 35 years of service for mandatory retirement, should strictly be complied with.”

Under the new dispensation, career officers wishing to take up tenured appointments should, at the point of taking up the tenured appointments, retire from service to ensure they run their term uninterrupted.

Those who have not retired or chosen not to retire from service, before the commencement of their tenured appointment, must leave office on attainment of the mandatory age / years of service for retirement.

Besides, career officers who are currently holding tenured appointments are required to retire from the service with immediate effect and continue to run their term.

On August 20, 2009, President Yar’Adua approved the HOS’ proposal that a permanent secretary or a director will serve in the first instance for a four year term renewable for another four years.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.