Breaking News

FG appoints Vanguard’s Editor NPC award c’ttee member

By Victor Ahiuma-Young
THE Federal Government has announced the appointment of Vanguard’s Assistant Editor (Labour), Mrs. Funmi Komolafe, into the reconstituted 15-member National Productivity Centre Order of Merit Award Committee.

An outstanding and experienced journalist, Mrs. Komolafe edits Vanguard’s Labour and Pension pages, among other things.

The reconstituted committee which has Chief (Dr.) Arohumolase Bailey as Chairman, is expected to screen nominees for the National Productivity Order of Merit Award and make recommendations on deserving award recipients to the President through the Minister of Labour and Productivity.

The committee also has a representative each from the Federal Ministry of Labour and Productivity, Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association, Federal Civil Service Commission, Manufacturers’ Association of Nigeria,Chambers of Commerce, Senate Committee on Labour and House of Representatives Committee on Labour.

Adebimpe Aor, Deputy Director, NPC, is the Secretary.

A statement from the Labour Ministry and signed by Assistant Director (Press), Mr. Samuel Olowookere, said the committee will be inaugurated on Monday, August 24 at the Shehu Musa Yar’Adua Centre, Abuja.

Other members of the award committee include: Dr. M.I. Jimeta, Mr. Okechukwu Ajunwa, Representative each of FML&P, NECA, FCSC, Representative of MAN-Member, Otunba Dele Oye, (Rep. Chambers of Commerce)-Member, Nominee of the Senate Committee on Labour- Member, Nominee of the House Committee on Labour-Member, Mrs. Funmi Komolafe, MPOM, Labour Editor Vanguard- Member, Alhaji Aidi Abass-Member, Director General NPC-Member, Barrister Ikechi Uko-Member and Mrs. Adebimpe Aor Deputy Director NPC-Secretary.”

The statement added that the Minister of Labour and Productivity, Prince Adetokunbo Kayode, thanked the members of the dissolved panel for their meritorious services to the Nation.

The statement read in part: “The Federal Government has approved the reconstitution of the National Productivity Order of Merit Award Committee. The committee would be inaugurated on Monday 24th August, 2009, by 10.00 am prompt at Yar’Adua Centre in Abuja


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.