Breaking News

Insurers elect 6 into NIA Council

By Ifeanyi Ugwuadu
Six Chief executive officers of member-companies of Ni gerian Insurers Association has been elected into the highest decision making organ of the trade group. The six CEOs representing six insurance companies were elected last week in Lagos at the annual general meeting of the association.

In the mature contest which was smoothly organised, 8 CEOs vied for the six vacant positions in the council.  Three seats were declared vacant after the expiration of the tenure of three member-companies’ representatives while the other three were vacated by another three CEO’s who retired in their various organisations.
Mr. Gus Wiggle, Managing Director/ CEO, Linkage Assurance Plc Mr Fatai  Lawal, Managing Director, CEO, Sterling Assurance Co. Ltd and Mr. Sakiru Oyefeso, Managing Director, CEO, STACO Insurance Plc were reelected at the AGM after polling 28, 29 and 26 respectively.
Similarly, Mr. Godwin Odah, Managing Director/CEO Union Assurance Company Ltd.; Alhaji Mohammed Kari, Managing Director/CEO UnityKapital Assurancce Plc, Mr. Austin Enajemo-Isire, Managing Director/CEO, Standard Alliance Life Assurance Company Limited, and Mrs. Yetunde Ilori, Chief Executive Officer, Guaranty Trust Assurance Plc contested for the other three vacant seats.
After the voting, Alhaji Mohammed Kari,  Mrs. Yetunde Ilori, and late entrant Mrs Adetayo Akintunde, CEO of SpringLife Assurance Company Ltd clinched the three remaining seats after polling 27, 19 and 28 votes.
For eligibility to vote in the elections, voting member companies are not to be indebted to the association. Infact, some members were disenfranchised due to their inability to meet their obligations.
The trade group also witnessed an increase in the number of member companies to 57 from 49.
The three new members would join others to drive the industry’s target of reforming itself and emerging a stronger sector in the nation’s economy.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.