Kuje (FCT) – The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the chairmanship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Mr Abdulahi Sabo, winner of the supplementary poll for Kuje Area Council, FCT.

One of the first voters casts their ballots at Unguwar Sarki polling station in Kaduna on February 23, 2019, as Nigeria votes to elect its new president. – Nigerians began voting for a new president on February 23, after a week-long delay that has raised political tempers, sparked conspiracy claims and stoked fears of violence. Some 120,000 polling stations began opening from 0700 GMT, although there were indications of a delay in the delivery of some materials and deployment of staff, AFP reporters said. The presidential contest will see incumbent Muhammadu Buhari (APC) seek to win a second four-year term against former vice president Atiku Abubakar (PDP) (Photo AFP)

INEC had on March 9, declared the chairmanship election in the area inconclusive due to electoral violence at some poling units in Rubochi and Kwaku.


Prof. Titus Ibekwe, the INEC Returning Officer who announced the result, said Sabo scored the highest votes of 19, 090, to defeat the incumbent chairman, Mr Abdulahi Galadima of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 15, 187.

He said that “Abdulahi Sabo of the PDP, having satisfied the requirements of the law and having the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

However, some political thugs tried to disrupt the voting process at Rubochi, but was immediately addressed by the security operatives present at the poling unit.

Some residents and supporters of Abdulahi Sabo were seen jubilating over the PDP victory in Kuje metropolis.

Mr Yusuf Dabo, the spokesman for Abdulahi Sabo, said the outcome of the supplementary election was a victory to the entire people of Kuje and a victory for democracy. (NAN)


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.