By Olasunkanmi Akoni & Ebun Sessou
Lagos—Six out of the eight Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, lawmakers at the Lagos State House of Assembly have officially announced their defection to the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC.

The defection was announced Thursday through a letter addressed to the Speaker of the House, Mr. Mudashiru Obasa titled; “Letter of Defection from PDP To APC” and dated 16th February, 2017.

It was signed by the defectors excluding the Minority Leader, who announced his defection on the floor of the House.

The news of the defection was reported on February 6 that six out of the eight PDP lawmakers in the assembly were set to defect to APC but some of them refuted it.

The defectors included the Minority Leader, Akeem Bello (Amuwo Odofin II), Minority Whip, Mosunmola Sangodara (Surulere II), and Olusola Sokunle (Oshodi/Isolo I).

Others were Jude Idimogu (Oshodi/Isolo II), Dayo Famakinwa (Ajeromi Ifelodun II) and Oluwa Fatai (Ajeromi/Ifelodun I).

The two PDP lawmakers left in the opposition are Victor Akande (Ojo I) and  Dipo Olorunrinu (Amuwo-Odofin I).


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.