ABEOKUTA — GOVERNOR Ibikunle Amosun of Ogun State, has described the internal crisis rocking the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, as a blessing to the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The governor spoke when he received scores of PDP chieftains across the 20 local government areas of the state that defected to APC.

Amosun, who spoke with newsmen after he welcome the new defectors in Abeokuta,  said APC was poised to take over power at the federal level 2015.

He noted that the current crisis bedeviling the ruling PDP would boost the chances of the APC.

Gov Amosun

According to him: “The crisis rocking the  PDP is a blessing to us in APC; we prayed for that, we all prayed that the PDP should have crisis, because we are in soup if they are united.

“I pray that the centre should not hold for PDP,” he remarked, noting that the momentum already gathered by the opposition APC would be sustained to oust the ruling party from government.

Speaking about his policies, Amosun said, “this is not about myself, it is about Ogun State and its development and progress.

“Governance cannot be solely done by the governor, it requires the collective input and support of the people.”

Amosun, however, decried the lopsided revenue allocation in the country, saying it was an albatross to development and noted that but for lack of fund his administration would have created Local Council Development Areas, LCDAs, to enhance access to governance at the grassroots.

The defectors were received at the Gateway Hall, Ibara GRA, Abeokuta by Governor Ibikunle Amosun, the state House of Assembly Speaker, Suraj Adekunbi, and the state APC Interim Chairman, Alhaji Ola Bello.

Those who defected included a former House of Representatives member, Kazeem Salako; former state House of Assembly members, Tokunbo Oshin and Adekunle Adegboyega; former PDP governorship aspirant, Chief Kola Lawal; former Chairman of Yewa North local government, Prince Bolaji Aretola, and Otunba Fatai Sowemimo.

Others are former Special Adviser to ex-House of Representatives Speaker, Chief Kayode Odunaro; former Special Assistant to ex-Governor Gbenga Daniel on Local Government Matters, Elder Tokunbo Fakeye; former Chairman, Abeokuta South local government, Chief Dare Gbolahan; former PDP State Auditor, Adisa Ajayi, Chief Dele Oderinde, and Afolabi Afuape.

Most of them said they were motivated by the exemplary leadership and commendable performance of the governor in the last two years.

Amosun expressed satisfaction with the decision of the defectors, urging them to mobilise their supporters for success of the programmes and policies of the state government.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.