ABEOKUTA- OPERATIVES  of State Security Service, SSS, yesterday, interrogated  some  members of Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, believed to be  loyalists of former governor of Ogun State and leader of the  party, Chief  Olusegun Osoba, over their role in the crisis rocking the party ahead of  the July 21 local government election.

A chairmanship aspirant, Moshood Akinyele, popularly called “Americo” and other party chieftains were reportedly drilled over Tuesday’s attack on a member of the state House of Assembly, Victor Fasanya, representing Abeokuta South 1, Constituency at the residence of Osoba during a protest.

Vanguard learnt that Akinyele, who is contesting for the chairmanship of Abeokuta South Local Government and believed to be a candidate of Osoba, was subjected to serious  interrogation by SSS operatives over his role in the  crisis.

It will be recalled that the angry ACN supporters who had stormed the Ibara GRA, Abeokuta residence of Chief O Osoba, allegedly attacked Fasanya, whom they accused of conniving with perceived loyalists of Governor Amosun to impose candidates for the council poll.

Another ACN chieftains, Chief Doja Adewolu, however narrowly escaped being mobbed by the angry party supporters as he left Osoba’s residence amidst threats  from party supporters who called him unprintable names.

The ACN chairmanship aspirant and other invited party chieftains were however questioned and released by the SSS few hours after their interrogation.

Confirming the development, the Director of the SSS in Ogun State, Mr. Joseph Okpo, said on the phone that the aspirant was invited along with some other party members over the alleged attack on  the lawmaker and the harassment of other party leaders at Osoba’s house.

He said “yes, the aspirant was invited along with others in connection with an incident at former governor Osoba’s house. Some people reported to us that they were assaulted there”.

Meantime, the crisis over the July 21 local government council election has divided the state House of Assembly as eight lawmakers said to be loyalists Chief Osoba boycotted the activities lined up to mark the one year anniversary of the state House of Assembly yesterday.

They are Femi Allen-Taylor, Samson Onademuren, Adijat Olaleye-Adedapo, Elizabeth Anifowose, Ojodu Olawale, Oludaisi Olusegun, Adeyinka Mafe and Victor Fasanya.

They also refused to wear the ‘Ankara’ uniform fabric sewn and worn by other members for the one year anniversary celebrations as sign of protest.

Immediately the house adjourned sitting for the day, the eight lawmakers were said to have gone straight to their various offices and stayed indoors while their other colleagues went about the activities for the anniversary celebrations in the assembly complex.

In a related development, the leadership of the House has set up a five-man committee to look into last Sunday’s demolition of a two-bedroom building erected by one of the eight lawmakers, Adijat Oladapo-Adeleye within the premises of her official quarters in Abeokuta.

The committee would work under the chairmanship of Babatunde Edunjobi.  But as at the time the plenary ended, the Speaker, Suraj Adekunbi, did not give the committee its terms of reference.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.