Ondo state Governor, Dr  Olusegun Mimiko has declared the State a no-go area for sponsors and perpetrators of violence ahead of the October 20, 2012 gubernatorial election. Governor Mimiko made the declaration yesterday while receiving defecting leaders and members of the Peoples Democratic party (PDP) and the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) into the Labour party. The defectors are about 3,000.

Addressing the mammoth crowd of the new members in Akure, Mimiko said the State is a no-go area for sponsors and would-be perpetrators of violence ahead of the October 20, 2012 gubernatorial election. He thus  promised them a tough time in the hands of law enforcement agencies which he said are battle ready for law breakers should they turn deaf ears to wise counsel to allow free and fair elections in the state.

According to him, “there has been a lot of rumour about the outbreak of violence in Ondo State in the forthcoming election.”

We should be mindful that some people have promised brick stone and fire. I want to assure that the law enforcement agencies are up to the task. “The era of election brigandage is certainly gone in this state. I have no doubt in my mind that this coming election will be free and fair. Never again will Ondo State witness violence during elections. By the grace of God, both old and the young, you will continue to experience happiness.

Mimiko described the current wave of mass defection into Labour Party as a testimony of the acceptance and acknowledgment of the achievements of the present administration in different sectors of human endeavours.

“Those who decamped today are tested and experienced politicians. Even in your constituencies, Labour Party members can now sleep with their two eyes closed because of your political sagacity. We have to appreciate those who have decided to join our party and I want to assure them that they will be carried along in the scheme of things.

“We must ensure that we do what we are expected to do to make sure that we wipe the scourge of poverty out of the land. That is the work and responsibility of government. That was the promise we made to you when we were sworn in that we will work for you. This government will continue to work for you” he re-affirmed.

The decampees who declared for the Labour party  include four former Local Government Chairmen under the administration of former governor, Dr. Olusegun Agagu.

They are Prince Tunde Adegbonmire who later became the Chairman of the State Library Board, Dr. Adeluse Obe, Mr. Adesoye Obele, all from Ifedore and Prince Olu Falolu from Odigbo.

Also in LP now are former Chairman of the Ondo State Sports Council, Elder Michael Adeyeye, popular broadcaster, Ayo Omotosho, Adewumi Faaji, Mr. Tope Isijola and Mrs. Faaji both of ANPP, Dele Fagboro, Pastor Ajabu Agunbiade, Vice Chairman of PDP, Ward 9 in Akure South, Oladeji Falokun and Mr. Dayo Ologunmeta, a former top aide to Action Congress candidate in 2007 governorship election, Barr. Ademola Adegoroye.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.